Community Development Network

The Community Development Network's aim is to provide leadership and support to people working within the Community Development and Community Services within Western Australian Local Government and related organisations.

 The LG Professionals WA Community Development Network Committee:

Chairperson:
Jude Thomas 
Director Place & Community
City of Mandurah
9550 3821
jude.thomas@mandurah.wa.gov.au

Deputy Chairperson
Paul Gravett
Manager Community
Town of Victoria Park
9311 8111
pgravett@vicpark.wa.gov.au
Caroline Jones
Manager Community Learning
City of Canning
1300 422 664
caroline.jones@canning.wa.gov.au
Beverley Bone
Manager Community Development
City of Fremantle
9432 9729
beverleyb@fremantle.gov.au
Mary-Jane Rigby
Manager Community Support and Safety Services
City of Rockingham
9527 0703
Mary-Jane.Rigby@rockingham.wa.gov.au
Garry Fisher
Manager Lifespan Services
City of Swan 
9278 9645
Garry.Fisher@swan.wa.gov.au

Deb Wilkes
Executive Manager Community Development
Shire of Shark Bay
9948 1013
emcd@sharkbay.wa.gov.au
Secretary:
Judy Toll
Community Development Officer - Grants
Town of Victoria Park
9311 8114
jtoll@vicpark.wa.gov.au
Amy Pitts
Corporate and Community Engagement Officer
Shire of Harvey
9729 0326
amyp@harvey.wa.gov.au
Peter Madden
Coordinator Youth and Families
City of Gosnells
9397 3333
PMadden@gosnells.wa.gov.au
Kristy Arnott
Coordinator Community Development Lifespan Services
City of Swan
9278 9670
Kristy.Arnott@swan.wa.gov.au
Emma Landers
Alliance Manager Community Services
City of Perth
9461 3228
emma.landers@cityofperth.wa.gov.au
Jessica Black
Lecturer Community Pathways
North Metropolitan TAFE
9780 5276
Jessica.black@snmtafe.wa.edu.au
Board Representative:
Matt Macpherson
Manager Infrastructure Management Services
City of Joondalup
9400 4000
Matthew.Macpherson@joondalup.wa.gov.au
Community Development Evaluation Framework and Toolkit

We are incredibly proud and excited to have launched the Community Development Evaluation Framework and Toolkit. These resources support the implementation of effective evaluation practices in the local government context.

A tailored response
The evaluation framework is a tailored response to the needs of Community Development Officers (CDOs) - a guide to evaluation basics that can be effectively used within a range of settings.

This resource is a step towards creating a more systemic approach to evaluation across the state-wide network of CDOs, enabling CDOs and Managers to developed a shared language and understanding about what is possible when evaluating their work.

A resource of two elements - a framework and a toolkit
This resource consists of two parts - an evaluation framework providing:

  • An overview of key things to consider when planning and managing an evaluation
  • A foundational approach to undertaking evaluations for community development purposes in local government settings
  • A discussion of main approaches to evaluation and methods that might be most suitable to a real-world local government context.

And, an evaluation toolkit providing:

  • Guidance on implementing the evaluation cycle and using different evaluation tools
  • Templates and resources